Whether you are 14 and 8 months old or 35 years old, it’s not too late to get your driver’s license. Anyone over the age of 14 and 8 months can get their driver’s license as long as they can pass the Michigan Driver’s License Test. There is a lot of categories that go into the driver’s test in Michigan. There are two main parts to the test itself: the exam and the road test. Spring is about to spring and most of the student drivers are ready to get behind the wheel and start driving everywhere! It’s an exciting time for students and anyone learning how to drive. There are so many things to learn and so many more things that you always need to keep in mind when driving. Even if you’re not a new driver, a refresher on how to be a good driver can be useful. If you’re under 18 years old, there are a few steps that you need to take in order to get your driver’s license in Michigan. The first is taking the segment one class and passing it.
People who pass segment one in Michigan get their learner’s license. Passing Driver’s Education Segment 1 in Michigan consists of 24 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction and 4 hours of observation time in a training vehicle as well as passing a written test. Once you get your level 1 learner’s license you will be able to drive with a parent/guardian or anyone who has consent to drive with you. To get this permit, you must go to the Secretary of State office and show them documents that prove your identity and citizenship. Studying the booklets and taking the time to understand the laws of driving are important in order to pass the written test for this segment. If you do not pass segment one you can retake the class and try again but cannot move onto the next segment.
Obtaining your segment two certificate in Michigan is the next step in getting your driver’s license. Once you have had your level 1 learners license for 3 months and have driven a total of 30 hours including 2 hours at night, you will be able to take Segment 2. The Michigan Segment 2 Driver’s Education course consists of 6 hours of classroom time, 50 logged hours of driving including 10 hours of night driving. If you are under 16 you will use this level 2 license to drive until you turn 16. If you are older than 16 but under 21 then you will only need this level 2 license for 6 months.
The rules for the level 2 license are a little bit different. You cannot drive with more than one passenger if you are under the age of 21 unless they are immediate family, you’re going to your job, you have a designated adult driver with you, or if you are going to an authorized activity like school or sports. For people 18 years and older, it’s so much simpler. All you need is a valid permit from the Secretary of State with 30 days of practice or a stamped permit from SOS waiving the 30 days. There are so many drivers testing location and business that can be found on the Michigan SOS website. Once you have had your level 2 license for at least 6 months and have not received any tickets for at least 1 year, your level 2 license will be updated to a level 3 license with full driving privileges.
When you go to the Secretary of State, you will need to bring with you a lot of documentation to make sure that you have completed all the driving hours necessary and that your identity and state of residence is true. Taking your social security card with you, your passport, a w-2 or 1099 completed tax form, or birth certificate are all great documents to bring just in case. If you’re ready to get your license and have all the necessary documents, then make your appointment for the Secretary of State soon! If you need help making a secretary of state appointment click here and we’ll be able to help get you a quote and an appointment!